Sailing Blog

Aitutaki regatta to become annual

Posted by:

Aitutaki regatta to become annual

Aitutaki Sailing Club

Aitutaki Sailing Club successfully launched their first ever Aitutaki Sailing Challenge 2012 and after positive feedback – it will become an annual event.

The sailing regatta was held on July 7 and 9 off Ootu beach on the turquoise lagoon of Aitutaki and under bright blue skies.

Escaping the winter were sailors from Auckland’s Kohimarama Yacht Club which gave the racing a truly international flavour.

On both race days, 22 optimist boats and six lasers competed in very light to moderate conditions which bought out the competitiveness in many of the sailing fleets.

Aitutaki Sailing Club got racing off to a smooth start, which was a credit to the new race management crew and the club committee and supporters, who worked so hard to put the event together.

There was plenty of local interest and many families and friends watched the event. Rarotonga and New Zealand sailors were treated to the well-known Aitutakian hospitality as they shared many activities on and off the water.

Not only did the young sailors enjoy the event but the New Zealand sailors were able to take advantage of their school holiday period and combine an overseas travel experience with an international sailing competition.

Despite the warm hospitality Aitutaki sailors showed their competitive streak with top results in both the laser and optimist classes.

Titi Kaukura from Aitutaki took first place in the optimist class.

He showed his fine sailing skills when on several occasions he had to come from behind in the race.

At one point he was called to do a 720 penalty turn just on the finish line and he took it all in his stride and edged ahead of his competitors.

Optimist results – Titi Kaukura ASC 1st, Dean Tetuaiteroi ASC 2nd, Eseta Ailaouamaua RSC 3rd, Sam Morgan NZL 4th, Crystal Sun NZL 5th, Pat Morgan NZL 6th, Eric George ASC 7th, Tyler Davis RSC 8th. Te Akua Framhein RSC 9th, David Meti ASC 10th, Makua Nakoia RSC 11th, Tautika Ioane RSC 12th, Lance Takaiti ASC 13th, Ngatuakana Kamoe ASC 14th, Michael Tatira ASC 15th. Helene Johnstone RSC 16th, Martin Obeda RSC 17th, Gordan Tom ASC 18th, Christmas Vaerua ASC 19th, Tamarua Masters RSC 20th, John Tepaki ASC 21st, Driver William ASC 22nd, Rebecca Morgan NZL 23rd.

The laser class winners trophy went to Duane George who although is new to laser sailing showing that good basic grounding in the Optimist boat can have great benefits when crossing over to other boat classes.

Duane sailed with determination and sailing skill to comfortably take his top placing.

Laser results –Duane George ASC 1st, Josh Ioane ASC 2nd, Rino Rima ASC 3rd, Savannah Gordan NZL 4th, Matt Morgan NZL 5th, Vanic Teina RSC 6th.



Add a Comment